04 July 2016 Carl Zeiss Award for Young Researchers

Winners of the Carl Zeiss Award for Young Researchers Robert Keil, Robert Brückner, and Georg Heinze (ICFO) with Dr. Ulrich Simon (left) and Professor Jürgen Mlynek (right)

ICFO Postdoc Georg Heinze honoured ZEISS, an internationally leading technology enterprise operating in the optics and optoelectronics industries, this year awards for the first time the Carl Zeiss Award for Young Researchers. In this inaugural year, they have honored three excellent up-and-coming researchers; Dr. Georg Heinze, ICFO postdoctoral researcher in the Quantum Photonics With Solids And Atoms group led by ICREA Prof at ICFO Hugues de Riedmatten, along with Dr. Robert Brückner, Institute for Applied Photo Physics (IAPP), Technical University of Dresden, Germany and Dr. Robert Keil, Institute for Experimental Physics, University of Innsbruck, Austria. Georg was given this award for his Physical Review Letters paper, ‘Stopping light for up to one minute’. The award is endowed with a total prize of 21.000 € which is equally shared among the three winners.

Congratulations Georg!