19 May 2016 RSEF Awards Ceremony

Photo credit: Fundación BBVA

Prof. Leticia Tarruell honored with the RSEF prize for Young Experimental Physicists. Last night, May 18th, the Royal Spanish Society of Physics (RSEF) awards ceremony took place at the BBVA Foundation headquarters in Madrid, honoring eleven scientists and professionals working in the field of physics in Spain. Secretary of State in R&D + I, Carmen Vela Olmo, and Mr. Francisco González Rodríguez, Group Executive Chairman of BBVA, presented the awards.

Created in 1958, the RSEF Physics awards, given by the Royal Spanish Society of Physics (RSEF) and the BBVA Foundation, annually select the most important achievements in Physics from the Spanish community, recognizing the creativity, effort and achievement in the field.

This year, the committee selected ICFO Prof. Leticia Tarruell and Cambridge Prof. Xavier Moya as the winners of the 2015 Physics Awards for Young Experimental Physics. Prof. Tarruell, who leads the Ultracold Quantum Gases research group at ICFO, has been honored for the creativity demonstrated in conducting experiments in quantum simulations with ultracold Fermi gases.

Congratulations Leticia and to all winners of the 2015 RSEF Physics Awards across all categories!