22 July 2015 UPC PhD Thesis Awards 2015

Dr. Alberto Curto and Dr. Daan Brinks

The UPC recognizes Dr. Daan Brinks and Dr. Alberto González Curto with the 2015 Extraordinary PhD Thesis Award. The Extraordinary PhD Awards, given annually by the Technical University of Catalonia (UPC), aim to recognize the best doctoral theses which have obtained \"cum laude\" in their final PhD defense evaluation. This year, the UPC announced the list of 26 awardees, which include Dr. Daan Brinks’ and Dr. Alberto González Curto’s thesis among the list of extraordinary doctoral works for the academic period 2012/2013.

Before formally joining ICFO as a PhD student, Dr. Daan Brinks completed a Master’s degree from University of Twente, during which time he conducted research on “Ultrafast dynamics and coherent control of single molecules” at ICFO in the group lead by Prof. Niek Van Hulst. Upon completion of his Master’s degree, he continued his ultrafast single molecule research at ICFO in this same research group and presented a thesis in 2012 entitled ‘Nanoscale Coherent Control’, supervised by ICREA Prof. at ICFO Dr. Niek Van Hulst.

Dr. Alberto González Curto also performed his research in the group led by ICREA Prof. at ICFO, Niek van Hulst. While at ICFO he completed the Master in Photonics program offered by the Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, the Universitat de Barcelona and ICFO-The Institute of Photonic Sciences. His PhD research at ICFO focused on nanoantennas as optical elements for enhanced interaction of light with nanoscale matter. Dr. Curto defended his thesis in 2013, which was entitled ‘Optical antennas control light emission’ and also supervised by Prof. Niek van Hulst.

In addition, both Dr. Daan Brinks and Dr. Alberto González Curto also received the ICFO PhD Thesis Awards in 2013 and 2014, respectively, for demonstrating highly creative and ambitious research progress at the institute.

The 2015 UPC PhD Thesis Award ceremony will be held in September 2015, as part of the inauguration of the academic year2015-2016.

Congratulations Daan and Alberto for this outstanding award!